College Retention

The four higher education institutions whose data is featured in the Striving Together report have been working together as part of a network of higher education institutions in the region. This network includes four public institutions serving the urban core – University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, Northern Kentucky University and Gateway Community and Technical College – as well as several other institutions in the region, including Xavier University, The College of Mount St. Joseph, Thomas More College and Miami University.

The network meets quarterly to share best practices in the area of college student retention. Collaboratively this network has reviewed college student retention literature, put together a directory of Campus Support Services and applied for grant funding. Individually, all institutions are collecting and analyzing data on a regular basis to assist with program development and design, as well as target interventions to students. Both the state of Ohio, through its University System of Ohio effort, and the state of Kentucky, through its Council on Postsecondary Education Strategic Planning efforts, have committed to increasing retention and graduation rates and will hold public institutions accountable for improvements by tying results to state funding.